NSF Honors 13 Williams Students and Alumni

Print Story | Email Story

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. — The National Science Foundation has awarded research fellowships to 10 Williams College students and alumni.

In addition, the NSF has awarded honorable mentions to three Williams graduates. The NSF fellowships support graduate study in the natural and social sciences.

The 10 Williams fellowship recipients are Shaan Amin, class of 2015, who studies political science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; Garrett Anstreicher, class of 2015, who studies economics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; Rebecca Frances Durst, class of 2017, who studies applied mathematics at Brown University; Rachel Alana Essner, class of 2016, who studies neurosciences at Harvard University; Roya Eskandari Huang, class of 2017, who studies developmental biology at Harvard University; Bijan Henrik Mazaheri, class of 2016, who studies computational and data-enabled science at the California Institute of Technology; Olivia Shira Meyerson, class of 2016, who studies evolutionary biology at Harvard University; Anya Michaelsen, class of 2019, who will study mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley; Stephanie Eu-Tien Stacy, class of 2017, who studies statistics at the University of California-Los Angeles; and Abigail Rose Zimmermann-Niefield, class of 2015, who studies technology education at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Honorable mentions went to Alice Chapman and Alice Stears from the class of 2015 and Gabriela Suarez from the class of 2017.  

With support from the NSF Fellowship, Michaelsen plans to pursue a Ph.D. in mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley in the fall, focusing in the broad area of algebra. A mathematics major from Burke, Va., she is aiming for a career in academia.

"I have always been passionate about math and want to keep learning after Williams," Michaelson said. "Professors have been hugely influential on my life and academic passions, and I hope to have a similar impact on those I teach in the future."

The National Science Foundation, an independent federal agency, was founded in 1950 to further U.S. leadership in the sciences. Since its inception it has supported graduate research and awards more than 1,000 research fellowships each year.


Tags: Williams College,   

iBerkshires.com welcomes critical, respectful dialogue; please keep comments focused on the issues and not on personalities. Profanity, obscenity, racist language and harassment are not allowed. iBerkshires reserves the right to ban commenters or remove commenting on any article at any time. Concerns may be sent to info@iberkshires.com.

Williamstown's Art Chosen to Fill School Committee Seat

By Stephen DravisiBerkshires Staff

Williamstown Moderator Adam Filson ran Monday's meeting, which was attended by Mount Greylock Superintendent Kimberley Grady.
WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. — By a vote of 10-3, Jamie Art was chosen Monday to fill a vacant seat on the Mount Greylock School Committee.
Per the regional agreement that joins Lanesborough and Williamstown in the preK-12 district, the vacancy created by the departure of Joe Bergeron required a meeting of the remaining School Committee members plus the select boards from both the district's member towns.
That made for 14 eligible voters. Thirteen attended Monday's meeting with one member of the School Committee, Williamstown's Alison Carter, currently on maternity leave.
There were five candidates before the joint meeting after Monday's withdrawal of former Williamstown Elementary School Committee member John Skavlem, who sent the district a letter saying that, in light of the high number of qualified applicants, he was happy continuing the serve the district on the School Committee's Phase 2 Capital Gift Subcommittee.
View Full Story

More Williamstown Stories