Norman Rockwell Museum Announces New Research Fellows in American Illustration

Print Story | Email Story

STOCKBRIDGE, Mass. — Norman Rockwell Museum’s Rockwell Center for American Visual Studies, the nation’s first research institute dedicated to American illustration, announces its new Society of Fellows. 

Established to bring leading thinkers and fresh perspectives to the study of American illustration art between 1850 and the present, the Society of Fellows will explore the history and criticism of this understudied field, to more fully develop the language and discourse of an academic discipline devoted to published art. In addition to scholarly writings, the Society of Fellows will convene twice a year to engage in discussion and debate, posing key questions related to this emerging area of illustration studies.

The 2017-2018 Society of Fellows include: Senior Fellow D. B. Dowd, professor of Art and American Culture Studies at the Sam Fox School of Design at Washington University in St. Louis, who curates and writes on illustration and cartooning; Michele Bogart, professor of American Visual Culture Studies at the State University of New York at Stonybrook, who writes on advertising, illustration, and public sculpture; Erika Doss, professor of American Studies at the University of Notre Dame, who writes widely on American visual culture and modernism; and Christopher Lukasik, professor of English at Purdue University, who writes on illustration and literary print culture in the 19th century. 

Annual fellowships are also awarded in support of scholars who are undertaking topics and themes that advance understanding of the role of published images in shaping and reflecting culture.

The Rockwell Center Fellowship Program is led by Stephanie Haboush Plunkett, Deputy Director/Chief Curator at Norman Rockwell Museum.

Tags: norman rockwell museum,   

0 Comments welcomes critical, respectful dialogue; please keep comments focused on the issues and not on personalities. Profanity, obscenity, racist language and harassment are not allowed. iBerkshires reserves the right to ban commenters or remove commenting on any article at any time. Concerns may be sent to

New Trustees Appointed at Norman Rockwell Museum

STOCKBRIDGE, Mass. — Jill Hai and Louis Henry Mitchell have joined the Norman Rockwell Museum board of trustees.

"We are extremely pleased to welcome these two outstanding members as trustees of Norman Rockwell Museum," said board Chairman Robert T. Horvath. "Their diverse talents and networks will enhance the museum's mission as the leading museum of illustration art and help to reach new audiences, honoring the legacy of Norman Rockwell and American illustration art."

In addition to Horvath, officers elected for one-year terms to the museum's board of trustees include returning President Alice Carter, First Vice President Jamie Williamson, Treasurer John V. Frank and newly appointed Second Vice President, Peter C. Williams, and John Hyson, who succeeds Williams as clerk.
Brian Alberg, Robert Babcock, Peter Blum, Alexander Brown, Terry Burman, Alice A. Carter, Anthony M. Consigli, Walter and Mary Jo Engels, John V. Frank, William W. Hargreaves, and Peter C. Williams were re-elected to three-year terms.

View Full Story

More Stockbridge Stories