Hundreds Participated In Annual Greylock Ramble

By Jack GuerinoiBerkshires Staff
Print Story | Email Story

ADAMS, Mass. — More than 1,000 walkers hiked to the summit of Mount Greylock during the 51st Ramble on Monday.

According to a ProAdams press release, 1,037 people made their way up the state's highest peak on Columbus Day.

Hikers began their ascent at 8 a.m. and continued steadily throughout the day. By midday, more than 650 hikers had picked up their certificate at Bascom Lodge on the summit.

Steven LeMire was the first hiker to check in.

Temperatures were moderate and comfortable for hikers, however, there was little to no visibility from the summit because of fog.

Most hikers were from Berkshire County but there were also visitors from Delaware, Oregon, Texas, Nevada, and California. Daniel Callanan, who was visiting from London, took the prize for farthest traveled.

Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts also incorporates the Ramble as one of its college community events and students annually trek up the mountain.

The youngest hikers were Kaylee Wesley of Pittsfield and Dylan Icardi of Cheshire — both seven months old.

The oldest hiker was Caroline Brazeau, 89, of North Adams. This was her 21st Ramble.

Tags: hiking,   Mount Greylock,   ramble ,   

0 Comments welcomes critical, respectful dialogue; please keep comments focused on the issues and not on personalities. Profanity, obscenity, racist language and harassment are not allowed. iBerkshires reserves the right to ban commenters or remove commenting on any article at any time. Concerns may be sent to

BArT Students Receive John and Abigail Adams Scholarships

ADAMS, Mass. — 13 Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter School students received John and Abigail Adams Scholarship
The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship provides merit-based credit toward tuition for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university. The scholarship covers tuition only, fees and room and board are not included.
This year's recipients are: Aiyanna Bellefeuille, Emma Danylin, Maya Gayle, Miranda-Ann Grant, Kyle Gwilt, Lindsey Gwilt, Olivia Jayko, Cameron Langsdale, Diego Mongue, Damian Nixon-Longdyke, Kassondra Stockmal, Charles Waltermire, and Molly Weeks
In order to be eligible for the scholarship students must:
View Full Story

More Adams Stories