BCC Announces Fall Semester Dean's List

Print Story | Email Story

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — Berkshire Community College has announced its fall 2019 Dean's List.

To be eligible for the list, full-time students must have declared a major; completed a minimum of 12 non-repeated, traditionally graded credit hours during the spring semester; and achieved a 3.250 to 3.749 grade point average for Honors, or a 3.750 to 4.000 grade point average for High Honors.

Part-time students are eligible for the list if they meet the same requirements, except that their credit hours may have been completed during the fall and spring semesters of one academic year.

The following 73 students qualified for High Honors:


Adams: Allison Armata, Rebekah Baker, Madeline Zelazo

Berkshire: Grace Kelley

Cheshire: Michaela Larkin, Kia Yang, Branden Favre

Clarksburg: Morgan Goodell

Dalton: Kyle Betit, Robert Dean, Alyssa Dunham, Colleen Moran,

Great Barrington: Kathleen O'Malley, Joshua Ranson, Jake Ryel, Camille Stanton

Hancock: Nicholas Kroboth

Hinsdale: Alicia Autenrieth, Melody Marcella, Paige Speth

Lanesborough: Savanah Brown, Benjamin McColgan

Lee: Beatrice Blais, Rebecca Carberry, Lia Douillet, Cameron Loehr

Lenox: Philip Baruch, Melinda Brickle

Lenox Dale: Nora Powers

Mill River: Andrea Ferrara

Mount Washington: Carl Furcht

New Marlborough: Nathaniel Chase

North Adams: Allison Brassard, Tiffany Hartlage

Peru: Cassidy Brewer, Kristin Burke

Pittsfield: Tanisha Adams, Kendra Alden, Cale Bassett, Savannah Berkeley, Lisa Cook, Travis Costello, Madison Daverin, Robert Disbrow, Eric Dupont Jr., Riana Gittens, Summer Jadallah, Thomas Kassmieh, Samuel Kellogg, Madison Kittle, Andrew McMahon, Mariana Melo, Abigail Mooney, Shaun Osoro, Eleanor Rutledge, Candice Smith, Pimpesan Supple, Molly Trainor, Amanda Wass, Rachel Williams

Savoy: Caleb Keels, James Najimy

West Stockbridge: William MacKinnon, Lydia Vreeland

Williamstown: Alecia Briggs, Elena Dichiara, Karen Fahlenkamp, Iain Kuttner

Windsor: Molly Gingras, Jack Markowitz


New York

Hillsdale: Trevor New

New Lebanon: James Fuller



Bennington: Katherine Bruneau


The following 81 students qualified for Honors:


Canaan: Kaitlynn Huften


Adams: Matthew Banks, Kristin Bourdon, Katey Farrell

Cheshire: Christina Briggs, Shelby Glasier

Dalton: Brayden Chevillet, Jessie Downer, Joel Manlachy, Gilen Prett, Dana Willette

Great Barrington: Xavier Conway, Kenneth Dyer, Alexander Kinstle, Ned Torrico

Hinsdale: Brittany Duma, Casey Hopkins, Hannah Martin

Housatonic: Danielle Lis

Lee: Sophia Burnell, Ethan Costi, Alyssa Forzano, Elias Keiderling, John Somostrada, Padraic Sullivan

Lenox: Molly McKenna, Kati Perry

North Adams: Rigoberto Gonzalez

Otis: Ava Guidette-Bocchino, Brittany Kergaravat

Peru: Jessica Burdick, Joalina Chicana Cacya, James Dolle, Kyle Gallup

Pittsfield: Carmine Albanese, Dorcas Archer, Lilith Blackmoon, Megan Blanchard, Christopher Bradley, Nicole Carnevale, Timothy Curry, Conor Fitzgerald, Patricia Fortier, Grace Greene, Lauren Gregory, Marisa Gregory, Madalin Holden, Roselie Jean Louis, Conner Kearns, Simian Kelly, Gabriel Kotski, Michela Laurin, Devine Lebeau-Harrigan, Lily Lobovits, Joseph Martel, Angelica Matos, Evan Mayotte, Colin Meaney, Brian Palmieri, Kiersten Pettit, Jimmy Phan, Adam Puntin, Brendan Remillard, Dane Shiner, Eric Simmons, Glore'Yahna Smith, Logan Steinman, Ezakeil Stone, Miranda Stracuzzi, Danna Toledo, Ryan Zurrin

Savoy: Crystal Harrington

Southfield: Kylie Ruane

Southwick: Leah Bartholomew

Williamstown: Cayman Mead

Windsor: Ethan Fusini

Worthington: James Crane


New York

Cherry Plain: Joseph Wehle

Millerton: Jonathan Wolfe



Bennington: Michael Marchetti, Peter Sorensen

Stamford: Eric Engel, Madison Vadnais.

iBerkshires.com welcomes critical, respectful dialogue; please keep comments focused on the issues and not on personalities. Profanity, obscenity, racist language and harassment are not allowed. iBerkshires reserves the right to ban commenters or remove commenting on any article at any time. Concerns may be sent to info@iberkshires.com.

Pittsfield Gets 475K for Second Installment of Block Grant Funds

By Brittany PolitoiBerkshires Staff

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — Pittsfield received its second allocation of Community Development Block Grants in the amount of $475,103.00.

The federally funded program is designed to help small cities and towns meet a broad range of community development needs.

In total, the city has received $1,264,444. The first allocation was accepted by the City Council on April 28, 2020. These two allocations are separate and in addition to the city's annual entitlement allocation.

At Tuesday's City Council meeting, Mayor Linda Tyer submitted an order to amend the CDBG annual Action Plan for the program year 2019-2020 to provide a special allocation of CDBG funds in the amount of $475,103.00.
This $475,103 allocation is proposed to be spent as follows:

  • $325,000 for small business assistance
  • $50,000 for human services
  • $129,000 for rental assistance
  • $50,103 for administration

Ward 2 Councilor Kevin Morandi and Ward 4 Councilor Christopher Connell questioned the $50,103 that is purposed to be spent in administration. The conversation got slightly heated as Connell questioned Community Development Director Deanna Ruffer on where the administrative costs go.

Connell asked Director of Finance & Administration/Treasurer Matthew Kerwood why salary line items remain the same come budget time when they received CDBG funding, wanting to know where that extra money goes.

He said this has troubled him for some time and that it seems like a black hole that some of these funds are going into. There has to be some decrease in line items for these positions if they receive these administrative costs from the grant, Connell added, because he knows that half of Ruffer and Program Manager Justine Dodds' salaries come from it.

View Full Story

More Pittsfield Stories