Quinn, Hayden Award Winners Announced

Print Story | Email Story

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — The Berkshire Chamber of Commerce will recognize two of the county's business leaders for their civic efforts at its annual meeting.

Stephen G. Crowe will be presented with the Francis H. Hayden Memorial Award and Eugene A. Dellea with the Esther Quinn Memorial Award on Wednesday, Dec. 12, during the breakfast meeting beginning at 7:30 a.m. at the Crowne Plaza.

Stephen G. Crowe
Crowe is chairman of MountainOne Financial Partners. The Hayden Award was estblished in 1968 in memory of the two-term president of the former Northern Berkshire Chamber who made significant contributions to the community as president and through his involvement with several other organizations.

The award is given annually to a person who has volunteered time, made personal sacrifices, and shown leadership resulting in significant contributions to the economic, social and cultural improvements of any or all of the communities of Adams, Cheshire, Clarksburg, Florida, New Ashford, North Adams, Savoy and Williamstown.

"Community leaders most often serve one major entity; Steve Crowe has offered his unique leadership talents to two – Northern Berkshire Healthcare Inc. and the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts Board of Trustees, while also serving as treasurer of a national trade association – the American Banking Association," said Alan Marden, chairman of the Francis H. Hayden Award Selection Committee. "North Berkshire has long been the beneficiary of Steve's volunteer efforts and he is an excellent choice for the 2012 Francis H. Hayden Award."

Crowe is also a former president and CEO of MountainOne and serves on the boards of directors of Savings Bank Life Insurance, the Massachusetts Bankers Association and the American Bankers Association. He also lends his talents to local non-profit boards and is treasurer of the Williamstown Rotary.

Now in its 43rd year, the Hayden Award has been presented annually since 1969. The first recipient was Donald Thurston; recent recipients are George Fairs, Mary and Henry Flint, Eric Rudd, George Kennedy, Joseph H. Wolfe, Donald R. Dubendorf, Joseph Thompson, Marci and Sandy Plumb, John DeRosa, Bruce Grinnell, Hulda Hardman-Jowett, Stephen A. Green, Stephen Pagnotta, Bernie Pinsonnault, Daniel Bosley and John Barrett III, and last year's winner, Mary Grant.

Eugene A. Dellea
Dellea is president of Fairview Hospital in Great Barrington and the Hillcrest Campus of Berkshire Medical Center in Pittsfield.

The Quinn Award was established in 1999 to honor the memory of the late chamber volunteer and advocate for volunteer efforts.

The award is given to a person who lives or works in Berkshire County and shows enthusiasm, empathy and effort in making the Berkshires a better place to live and work.

Dellea was recognized for his commitment to the many community and civic organizations with which he is involved. He is a past chairman of the Berkshire Community College Board of Trustees and is president of the BCC Foundation. He also serves on the American Hospital Association's Government Relations Committee, and the Governor's Regional Competitiveness Council. He is past president of the Pittsfield Chapter of UNICO, and served on the Mayor's Task Force for Economic Development. Dellea also serves on the boards of directors of the Berkshire Chamber of Commerce, the Central Berkshire County Development Corp. and the Berkshire County Regional Employment Board, and is chairman of Hillcrest Educational Centers. He is a past member of the Berkshire United Way board and is co-chairman of its Leadership Division. He also is vice president of the Community Health Association of Richmond and West Stockbridge.

"All these, and many others, encounter an empathetic, caring professional individual who makes the effort to identify the best path available to all who ask," said Jerry Burke, president and CEO of Hillcrest Educational Centers, who nominated Dellea. "Gene does this with a complete selflessness and behind-the-scenes manner that deflects credit and recognition."

Now in its 13th year, the Quinn Award has been presented annually since 1999. The first recipient was William Wilson, former president and CEO of the Berkshire Visitors Bureau; past winners include David Klausmeyer, Dr. Gary Lamoureaux, Louann Harvey, Mick Callahan, Robert Proskin, Richard Whitehead, Ellen Ruberto, Williams Hines Sr., Jerry Burke, Conrad Bernier, June Roy-Martin, and last year's winner, Michael MacDonald.

Tickets for the annual meeting are $30 each. To register: www.berkshirechamber.com, 413-499-4000 or choyt@berkshirechamber.com.

Tags: Berkshire Chamber of Commerce,   Hayden Award,   Quinn Award,   

iBerkshires.com welcomes critical, respectful dialogue; please keep comments focused on the issues and not on personalities. Profanity, obscenity, racist language and harassment are not allowed. iBerkshires reserves the right to ban commenters or remove commenting on any article at any time. Concerns may be sent to info@iberkshires.com.

iBerkshires.com Text Ads

Berkshire Health Systems

Our Patients Can Count On Us! BMC Ranked Among the Safest Hospitals in the Country.


Rainbow Restaurant

Wood Fired Pizza and Entrees. Daily Bar and Dinner Specials. Pittsfield, MA (413)443-0002


Ecu-Health Care 663-8711

MA Health Connector's 2018 Open Enrollment is Coming Soon.Watch your mail for important information.


Support Local News

We show up at hurricanes, budget meetings, high school games, accidents, fires and community events. We show up at celebrations and tragedies and everything in between. We show up so our readers can learn about pivotal events that affect their communities and their lives.

How important is local news to you? You can support independent, unbiased journalism and help iBerkshires grow for as a little as the cost of a cup of coffee a week.

Recent Stories