CANCELED: County All-Star Games

Print Story | Email Story
UPDATE: On Tuesday afternoon, March 10, Pittsfield Public Schools announced that the all-star game has been canceled.
PITTSFIELD, Mass. -- The Berkshire County High School Basketball Officials have named the teams who will compete in the annual Berkshire County All-Star game, which this year moves to Taconic High School on Friday, March 13.
Hoosac Valley coach Ron Wojcik will coach the Team Art Gwindell in the girls game, which starts at 6 p.m. His roster will include: Drury's Kayla McGrath and Alison Felix; Pittfield's Alexi Sondrini and Jordyn Lummus; Hoosac Valley's Shaleigh Levesque, Averie McGrath, Riley Robinson and Sarah Field; Mount Everett's McKenzie Ullrich; and McCann Tech's Izzy LaCasse.
For Team Pat Brune, Mount Greylock coach John Jacobbe will field a roster that includes: Taconic's Ciany Conyers, Taea Bramer and Ahliya Phillips; Wahconah's Noelle Furlong and Maria Gamberoni; Mount Greylock's Madison Ross; Lenox's Sophie Patella; Lee's Caroline Maloney and Emma Puleri; and Monument Mountain's Lenah Helmke.
The two boys teams, who will play in the second half of the double-header, are named for Mike Koperniak and Jay Meehan.
Playing on Team Mike Koperniak for coach Brian Cogswell of Lenox are: Drury's Scott McGuire Jr.; Wahconah's Kevin Huban and Tom O'Connor; Lenox's Nick Nicotra, Luke Patella and Jett Steinman; Monument Mountain's Connor Hanavan and Dion Brown; and McCann Tech's Lucas Jamros and Bruce Davis.
Playind for Pittsfield coach Brandon Mauer on Team Jay Meehan are: Lee's Evan Heath; Mount Greylock's Toby Foehl and Derek Paris; Mount Everett's Jack Carpenter; Hoosac Valley's Carson Meczywor and Izaha Stubbs; Pittsfield's Kymani Harley and Craig Jackson; and Taconic's Issac Percy and Mohammed Sanogo.
In addition to the games, the local referees will recognize winners of their sportsmanship awards on the 13th.
Those winners include Mount Greylock's Ross, Hoosac Valley's Robinson, Lenox's Nicotra and Taconic's Percy as well as Pittsfield's coach Mauer.
The refs also will recognize Hoosac Valley' Shaleigh Levesque as the winners of the grou's Oswald Tower Scholarship for 2020.
Print Story | Email Story