County All-Star Girls Lacrosse Game Held

Print Story | Email Story
DALTON, Mass. -- Mikayla DeSantis scored four goals and assisted on two more to lead her team to victory in the Berkshire County All-Star Girls Lacrosse Game on Monday at Wahconah Regional High School.
DeSantis and Perin Genaway each scored four goals for the "Azalea" team, which earned a 16-15 win over the "Green" team.
Mount Greylock's Kelsey Orpin and Arianna Walden and Wahconah's McKenna McIlquham each had a hat trick for the green team, which got 10 saves from Pittsfield's Haley Milne.
Katie Bachli made seven saves to earn the win for the Azalea team.
"The The girls had a blast," Mount Greylock coach Lindsey von Holtz said. "It is always fun to play with the athletes you have competed all year against, it helps with sportsmanship in the county. The game also helps encourage the athletes to keep working on their skills as it is enjoyable to play at a level of the best in the county.
"The players created a Facebook group after the game to be able to arrange meetings during the summer for some pick-up games or a summer league so that the skill level in the county can continue to increase and so that players don’t put down their sticks for too long."
The Azalea team's other goals came from Mount Greylock's Maggie Rorke (three) and Julia Whitney, Pittsfield's Shea Hassett (two), Hoosac Valley's Aubrey Rumbolt and Wahconah's Shaina Farrell.
Mount Greylock's Lauren Aliberti and Wahconah's Emmy Cote each scored two for the Green team, which also got goals from Wahconah's Jordan Budaj and Lee's Emma Bartini.
Other players who participated included Meryl Phair, Alex Zuber, Emma Hanley, Jacie Salvie, Allie Mendel, Julia King, Lauren Aliberti, Megan Richardson, Megan Kohlenberger, Emma Hanley, Emily Keyston and Haley Reinhard.
Also on Monday, the Berkshire County League's coaches named an all-league team.
Mount Greylock's Sarah Stripp was named the Berkshire County Player of the Year.
The first team included: Emma Polumbo, Lucy Barrett, Stripp, Reinhard, Orpin and Hope Willis from Mount Greylock; Genaway, Budaj, Cote and Bachli from Wahconah; Alyssa Kelly from Lee; and Hassett from Pittsfield.
The second team included: Caroline Flynn, Rorke, Hannah Trimarchi and Sam MacWhinnie from Mount Greylock; McIlquham from Wahconah; Julia King, Phair and Casey Collins from Lee; Zuber and Milne from Pittsfield; and Rumbolt and Holly Cadran from Hoosac Valley.
Print Story | Email Story