image description

Wahconah High Names Valedictorian, Salutatorian for 2023

Print Story | Email Story
DALTON, Mass. — Lucas A. Wildrick and Sheffield M. Drewry have been named valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, for the 2023 graduating class at Wahconah Regional High School. 
Both students will speak at graduation ceremonies on Sunday, June 4, at 1 p.m. in the school gymnasium. The valedictory speech will be titled, "Facing the Road Ahead" and the salutatory address will be titled, "Life is a Highway." 
Wildrick is the son of Stephen and Rachel Wildrick, both of Dalton. His academic program included honors and Advanced Placement coursework. He is active in Wahconah's athletic program, participating in cross country running, basketball and baseball throughout high school. He has coached community youth in baseball and basketball and has also helped out at summer youth sports camps. He is a member of the Youth Advisory Board, Rotary Interact, Best Buddies, and Quiz Team. He is also a member of the National Honor Society, volunteering at numerous community events.
He received the Rensselaer Institute of Technology's Computing Medal and Scholarship Program and its Innovation and Creativity Award, and the Superintendent's Academic Excellence Award. He has been recognized with several school awards in math and science, is a John and Abigail Adams Scholarship and Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery Award recipient. He was also selected as the Norman "Pop” Smith Youth of the Year.
Wildrick plans to attend the University of Massachusetts at Amherst in the fall to study sports management.
Drewry is the daughter of Candace Hall of Becket. She pursued an honors and Advanced Placement curriculum. She is active in the many service projects sponsored by the National Honor Society and serves as the Wahconah Chapter treasurer. She is the president of the Student Council, the captain of the swim team, a member of the Unified Track team, a co-president of  Best Buddies (a mentorship program for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities) a member of No Place for Hate, a president of Green Umbrella and Wahconah's Environmental Club. 
She serves as the student representative for the Equity and Diversity Committee and the Central Berkshire Regional School Committee meetings and is a senator for Massachusetts Girls State. Additionally, she is a lifeguard for the town of and a private and public swim instructor. Drewy was actively involved in service projects outside of school. She successfully petitioned to change Christopher Columbus Day to Indigenous Peoples' Day in the community. Additionally, she participated in the Undergraduate Pioneer Research Program in which she researched and wrote an article titled "Election related fear in present day America: The impact of electoral violence on voter turnout and voter registration."
Drewry received the Harvard Club of Western Massachusetts and the Citizen Scholar Book Award from the University of Vermont. She has been recognized with several school awards in math, science and history, was recognized as an AP Scholar with honor and is a John and Abigail Adams Scholarship and Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery Award recipient. 
She plans to attend Boston College in the fall and is majoring in environmental science.  

Tags: graduation 2023,   val & sal,   Wahconah,   

If you would like to contribute information on this article, contact us at

Pittsfield Draws Ballot Positions for November Election

By Brittany PolitoiBerkshires Staff

Candidates for at-large seats put the names in the tumbler. 

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — With the general election just over a month away, ballot positions were drawn for the mayoral, School Committee, and multiple City Council races.

City Clerk Michele Benjamin congratulated all candidates for their nominations and placement on the ballot.

Peter Marchetti attended the drawing and pulled second position, placing John Krol in the first position on the ballot for mayor. 

Councilors-at-large candidates Kathleen Amuso, Craig Benoit, Daniel Miraglia, Alisa Costa and a representative of Lucas Marion drew their own names. Incumbent Peter White is in the first position followed by Benoit, Amuso, Miraglia, Costa, incumbent Earl Persip III and Marion.

The four candidates with the top votes will be selected as councilors at large on Nov. 7.

School Committee candidate William Garrity attended and drew second position behind Dominick Sacco in the first. Incumbent Daniel Elias is in the third position followed by incumbent Sara Hathaway, incumbent William Cameron, and Diana Belair.

The committee has six seats.

Wards 1, 4 and 5 — held by incumbents Kenneth Warren, James Bryan Conant and Patrick Kavey, respectively — are not being contested.

A representative of Ward 2 candidate Brittany Bandani drew first position, placing Alex Blumin in the second position.

View Full Story

More Pittsfield Stories