Five from County Named to All-Academic Team SportsPrint Story | Email Story

Five Berkshire County boys have been named to the National Football Foundation’s 2016 All-Academic Team for Western Massachusetts.

Hoosac Valley’s Matt Koperniak and Peter Barrow were recognized along with Lee’s Tyler Buratto, Cam Abderhalden and Matt Heppleston.

Eleven players from Western Massachusetts were chosen across all divisions based on the following criteria: 40 percent academic excellence, 40 percent football success and 20 percent leadership, school, and community involvement.

Buratto’s Lee also was recognized with the local chapter of the NFF’s Francis X. Keating Award.

Editor's note (March 17) An earlier version of this story incorrectly identified one of the honorees.

Print Story | Email Story