County's Officials Name Rosters for March 16 All-Star Game

Print Story | Email Story
PITTSFIELD, Mass. -- Berkshire County Basketball Officials, IAABO Board No. 25, has announced the players selected for the Berkshire County Basketball All-Star Game to be played Friday, March 16, at the Boys and Girls Club in Pittsfield.
The girls game will tip off at 6 p.m. followed by the boys game at 8.
The officials started the All-Star game last year as a fund-raiser for their Oswald Tower Scholarship award, which will be presented to this year’s recipient between games. The officials also will be recognizing their four sportsmanship award winners -- Lauren Howard and Cavan Brady in the South Divisions and Bella Aitken and Javier Osorio in the North -- during half-time of each game, as well as their choice for the Coaches Sportsmanship award.
Coaching the girls teams will be Drury’s Ian Downey and Mount Greylock’s John Jacobbe.
Playing for Downey’s team honoring former official Pat Burke are: Drury’s junior Brooke DiGennaro and junior Hayley Shook; McCann Tech’s senior Aimee Dowling and freshman Grace Towler; Pittsfield’s senior Bella Aitken and junior Alexis Garvey;  Wahconah’s senior Julia O’Connor and freshman Maria Gamberoni; and Lee’s seniors Shannon Finnegan and Brianna Hawley.
Playing for Jacobbe’s team honoring former official Don Gleason are: Mount Everett’s junior Gwendolyn Carpenter and senior Sarah Beckwith; Hoosac Valley’s juniors Lexi Mercier and Alie Mendel; Taconic’s senior Ashley Rufo and sophomore Tamia Patrick; Monument Mountain’s juniors Meredith Powell and Destiny Brown; Mount Greylock’s senior Lauren Howard; and Lenox’s senior Alice Najimy.
Coaching the boys teams will be Pittsfield’s Brandon Mauer and Mount Everett’s Jowe Warren.
Playing for Mauer’s team honoring current official Richard Wright are: Mount Greylock’s seniors Sam Dils, Sean McCormack and Brady Foehl; Taconic’s senior Javier Osorio and sophomore Issac Percy; Pittsfield’s senior Edwin Rodriquez and juinor Joe Cracolici; McCann Tech’s seniors Logan Tower and Lukas Zelazo; and Lenox senior Connor Prince.
Playing for Warren’s team honoring former official Mike Kinne are: Mount Everett’s senior Cavan Brady; Monument Mountain’s seniors Kevin Troiano and Graham Herrick and sophomore Noah Helmke; Drury’s junior Reece Racette and sophomore Scott McGuire; Hoosac Valley’s senior Nicholas Waterman and sophomore Izaha Stubbs; Lee’s junior Ben Harding; and Wahconah’s junior Tom Burris.
In addition to honoring the players and coaches, the officials also will be honoring the All-Star table officials from Wahconah, official scorer Fran Reardon, official timer Tony Marcella and official 30-second timer Jodi DiMassimo. Often overlooked by the fans who attend the game, Berkshire County Officials understand the importance of the job that these table officials perform for every game. They are the foundation for a smoothly run game and the officials are very appreciative of their effort.
The event will be a great and positive way to celebrate Berkshire County Basketball. Tickets will be sold at the door and cost $5 for adults, $3 for students and senior citizens over 65, and free admittance for all active or reserve military.
Print Story | Email Story